[Previous] [Next] - [Index] [Thread Index] - [Previous in Thread] [Next in Thread]

Subject: Re: UKNM: Re: excuse me, someone has stolen our domain ...
From: Darren Wallace
Date: Thu, 24 Sep 1998 15:42:03 +0100

The story that I heard was that Digital, in their wisdom, used
altavista.digital.com because they wanted the brand to be 'Digital', rather
than 'altavista'. Therefore, they had little interest in registering the
altavista.com domain at the time.

Aside from the fact that it's more of a hassle to actually type
'altavista.digital.com' than 'altavista.com', as wel as being harder to
remember, you'd have thought that Digital would have bought the domain anyway,
which I understood was freely available at the time.

I've no idea what the recent domain sale was worth, although I have heard
unsubstantiated claims of a couple of million dollars bandied around.

Any ideas, Ivan?


>Anyone know what the guys who had registered
><http://www.altavista.com/> got from Digital when they
>bought the domain name off them? You'd have though a company like DEC would
>have had the foresight not to use a brand name for an Internet product that
>already been registered by someone else.
>Toodle Pip
>Chinwag - http://www.chinwag.com
> ICQ Pager: 4561042

Darren Wallace, Marketing Manager
CommerceNet Consortium
88 Kingsway, London, WC2B 6AA, UK
darrenatcommercenet [dot] org [dot] uk +44 171 916 2875(T)
+44 171 209 1236(F), +44 410 780 775(GSM)

www.commercenet.org.uk (UK & Ireland)

www.commerce.net (Global)
A worldwide research & development consortium
working with its members to make Internet commerce
easy, trusted and ubiquitous

  UKNM: Re: excuse me, someone has stolen , Sam Michel

[Previous] [Next] - [Index] [Thread Index] - [Next in Thread] [Previous in Thread]